Image Cropping
Image Cropping
Age Verification Failed
Sorry, you're not eligable to view this content

Go Back to Home Page
Age Verification
Please enter your date of birth
Enter your username.Your password will be send to your registered e-mail address.

Blizzard Shares More Details About The 2023 Overwatch World Cup

The Overwatch World Cup Is Back, Featuring 36 Nations
by Tit Krajnik on January 25, 2023   

After three years, the Overwatch World Cup returns for 2023, and this year, the competition promises to be bigger than ever. As announced by Blizzard on Tuesday, January 24, the 2023 Overwatch World Cup will welcome 36 nations, expanding the field by 26 teams compared to the most recent iteration from 2019.


On Tuesday, Blizzard confirmed the return of the Overwatch World Cup for the first time since 2019. The 2023 Overwatch World Cup will mark the fifth iteration of the event, first held in 2016, two years before Blizzard launched the Overwatch League.

This year, the World Cup will feature many changes, namely an extended field of participating nations. As confirmed, this year’s World Cup program will consist of three conferences, each with two groups of six countries for 36 teams, which have been selected based on Overwatch 2 player population data.

Blizzard has yet to unveil which nations will attend the event, but we won’t wait long before the list is finalized. Special competition committee applications will begin in February, while each participating country and region will host Overwatch World Cup trials over three weekends between February 10 and 26.

The team tryouts will happen something in March. The process will conclude in April when the committees will select teams of seven players. In addition to 36 countries and regions, the 2023 Overwatch World Cup will also feature a wild card challenge, awarding four additional spots. More details about it will be released next month.

The 2023 Overwatch World Cup will start with group play in June when the teams will compete within their groups for 16 spots at the LAN finals, scheduled to happen in the fall of 2023. Due to China’s achievements in the previous World Cup tournaments (including two runner-up finishes in the last two events), the team will receive a direct bye into the Group Stage, meaning there will be no World Cup Trials in China, and the team won’t have to participate in online qualifiers.

Overwatch World Cup 2023 Team & Groups Breakdown:

Americas Conference (AMER)

Group A: Canada, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Puerto Rico, United States
Group B: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

Europe and Middle East Conference (EMEC)

Group A: Belgium, France, Great Britain, Italy, Netherlands, Spain
Group B: Germany, Norway, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, Turkey

Asia-Pacific Conference (APAC)

Group A: Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, South Korea
Group B: Australia, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand

Because China will receive a direct bye into the Group Stage, the remaining 15 spots for LAN finals will be distributed as follows:

  • AMER A – 3 spots
  • EMEC A – 3 spots
  • APAC A – 3 spots
  • AMER B – 2 spots
  • EMEC B – 2 spots
  • APAC B – 2 spots

Each of the 36 participating teams will be represented by a competition committee consisting of a general manager, coach, and social lead. Blizzard will pick the three positions, and anyone can apply by submitting a video explaining why they see themselves fit for the role.


Comments (0)
Sign In to Comment
Member Rewards
Powered By: Image
Member Giveaway Rewards

Dead Space

Reward Type: Weekly Giveaway

Ends in: 186901

Member Point Rewards

Dead Space

Reward Type: Weekly Points

Ends in: 186901

Reward Quantity:

Your Rank: Login